Home › States
Security deposit laws by state
How long your landlord has to return your deposit, and the penalty, read in each state's own law.
- California: 21 days
California Civil Code Section 1950.5 - Texas: 30 days
Texas Property Code Sections 92.103, 92.107 and 92.109 - New York: 14 days
New York General Obligations Law Section 7-108 - Florida: 15 days (30 days for a notice of claim)
Florida Statutes Section 83.49(3) - Virginia: 45 days
Code of Virginia Section 55.1-1226 - Washington: 30 days
Revised Code of Washington 59.18.280 - Arizona: 14 business days after your demand
Arizona Revised Statutes Section 33-1321